The Jeffrey Lee Pierce Sessions Project-The Task Has Overwhelmed Us

“The Task Has Overwhelmed Us” by The Jeffrey Lee Pierce Sessions Project released 29 September, presenting 18 stellar interpretations of tracks from Pierce’s Gun Club and solo canons. Featuring the wonderful sounds of Dave Gahan, Debbie Harry, Nick Cave, Warren Ellis, Mark Lanegan, Cypress Grove, The Coathangers, Jim Jones & The Righteous Mind, Peter Hayes, Leah Shapiro, Humanist, Suzie Stapleton, Duke Garwood, Hugo Race, The Amber Lights (Mick Harvey & JP Shilo), Alejandro Escovedo, Mark Stewart, Lydia Lunch, Jozef van Wissem, Jim Jarmusch, Chris Eckman, Chantal Acda, Pam Hogg, Youth, Sendelica, Wonder, and Dynamax Roberts.
This is the fourth volume in the series celebrating the music, lyrics, and Fire Spirit of Jeffrey Lee Pierce. Play it loud. Keep the fire burning.
Out now on Glitterhouse Records
Available on 2-LP Vinyl and CD from
Streaming on all platforms.


1.Mother of Earth – Dave Gahan
2.La La Los Angeles – The Coathangers
3.Yellow Eyes – Jeffrey Lee Pierce (feat. Nick Cave & Warren Ellis)
4.Debbie By The Christmas Tree – The Amber Lights
5.Go Tell The Mountain – Mark Lanegan (feat. Nick Cave & Warren Ellis)
6.Going Down The Red River – Jim Jones and the Righteous Mind
7.The Stranger In Our Town – Peter Hayes, Leah Shapiro & Humanist
8.Secret Fires – Suzie Stapleton (feat. Duke Garwood)
9.Tiger Girl – Hugo Race
10.On The Other Side – Nick Cave & Debbie Harry
11.Idiot Waltz – Cypress Grove
12.Tiger Girl – The Amber Lights
13.From Death To Texas – Alejandro Escovedo
14.Vodou – Mark Stewart
15.Time Drains Away – Lydia Lunch, Jozef van Wissem, Jim Jarmusch
16.Lucky Jim – Chris Eckman & Chantal Acda 04:52
17.I Was Ashamed – Pam Hogg (feat. Warren Ellis & Youth)
18.Bad America – Sendelica (feat. Wonder & Dynamax Roberts)

BsideRiff - 2019